Home / News / Zuma’s new cabinet: Who is In and Who is Out
National Assembly of South Africa

Zuma’s new cabinet: Who is In and Who is Out

By Sibulele Magini

The newly re-elected South African President, Jacob Zuma, made his cabinet announcement on Sunday evening, 25th May 2014. This is the country’s fifth administration since the dawn of democracy and will be leading the country in respective assigned departments in the next 5 years. There are some new faces, new ministries, mergers and old faces shuffled around from department to department.

Starting with the old faces we know, the Minister in the Presidency: Planning, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation is now Jeff Radebe moving from the justice department to replace Collins Chabane. Chabane has been moved into the Public Service and Administration ministry replacing Lindiwe Sisulu who moves to Human Settlements. Housing is home for Sisulu as she was the minister of the department under Thabo Mbeki’s administration from 2004 to 2009.   From being minister of mineral resources, Susan Shabangu is now the minister of woman in the presidency. Shabangu comes in the place of the controversial Lulu Xingwana who led the ministry of women, children and people with disability. This ministry has now been limited in the presidency’s office.

Nathi Mthethwa has been moved from the police ministry into the arts and culture department. Pravin Gordhan is now the minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs and his position has been filled by deputy Nhlanhla Nene. Malusi Gigaba moved from the Public Enterpise ministry and is now the minister of Home Affairs replacing Naledi Pandor who has been moved back into the Science and Technology ministry where she was before she took the home affairs ministry from Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.

Derek Hanekom made way in the science and technology ministry for Pandor and is now replacing Marthinus Van Schalkwyk in the tourism department.

New ministers include the 33-year-old Communist Buti Mamela as the deputy minister in the Presidency. The premier of Gauteng Nomvula Mokonyane is now the minister of water and sanitation. ANC NEC member and Zuma loyalist, Lindiwe Zulu is now also a minister heading the new ministry; small development. Former National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) president Senzeni Zokwana is now also a minister in the agriculture, forestry and fisheries department. Zokwana is deputised by the controversial former police nation commissioner, Bheki Cele.

Those who retained their positions are basic education minister, Angie Motshekga, the minister of health Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, the minister of higher education, Dr Blade Nzimande, minister of rural development and land reform, the Grahamstown-born Gugile Nkwinti, the minister of sport, Fikile Mbalula, minister of Public Works Thula Nxesi, minister transport Dipuo Peters and minister of social development Bathabile Dlamini.

Mergers include the ministry of justice and constitutional development merged with correctional services, now called the justice and correctional services.

Leave a Reply